Ellen Page is Out!

Credit: Facebook.com/EllenPage

Credit: Facebook.com/EllenPage

Congrats to actress Ellen Page who came out this weekend in an empowering speech.  Ellen was in Las Vegas speaking at Time to THRIVE, a conference promoting LGBT youth when she made the announcement.  She said, , “I am here today because I am gay. And because maybe I can make a difference. To help others have an easier and more hopeful time. Regardless, for me, I feel a personal obligation and a social responsibility.”

Page also added, “I am tired of hiding and I am tired of lying by omission.”  She added,  “I suffered for years because I was scared to be out. My spirit suffered, my mental health suffered and my relationships suffered. And I’m standing here today, with all of you, on the other side of all that pain.”

While I applaud Ellen Page (and anyone for that matter) for coming out, I look forward to the day when this really isn’t news at all.  No one announces they are straight!  It’s 2014 and this really should be a non-issue!!!

Posted on February 15, 2014, in Celebrity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

